If you can’t say nothin’ nice. Don’t say nothin’ at all.

I try to be nice.

I really do.

But sometimes I come across really, really rude. I don’t mean to be. I just assume everyone is as blunt and direct as I am. I forget that sometimes, people just aren’t as thick headed as me. Often, this offends people. The worst part? I don’t even know I offend people. 

I need to officially (and publically) apologize to all of those people that I may have offended in the past. I am working on holding my tongue and thinking before I talk. (Remember my post on being socially awkward? Well, this plays into that) I’m sorry for not thinking before I speak. I’m sorry if I have insulted or embarrassed you.

My supervisor suggested that I read Dale Carnegie’s book “How to win friends and influence people”. That is next on my reading list. I hope that book helps me understand more about people and their personality traits. I’ve also heard “The color code” By Taylor Heartman will help with this.

Basically what I am getting at, treat people the way you want to be treated. I never know when I am offending someone, but if I remember that simple rule, that may help me to think before I say something. Would I want someone to speak to me that way? Probably not. I have a lot to work on. I’m willing to admit it, work on it and grow.

 From the October 2013 General conference, Elder Todd Christofferson quoted former Young Womens President Margaret D. Nadauld:

“The world has enough women who are tough; we need women who are tender. There are enough women who are coarse; we need women who are kind. There are enough women who are rude; we need women who are refined. We have enough women of fame and fortune; we need more women of faith. We have enough greed; we need more goodness. We have enough vanity; we need more virtue. We have enough popularity; we need more purity.”

I need to remember this as I continue to work on treating others the way I want to be treated. I think by treating other people kindly, it helps keep the spirit around. This is my weekly goal to help improve the spiritual area of my life.

 Image

Get this here.

Thanks for listening. Join me tomorrow for Get Movin’ Mondays! I’m going to start a weight loss goal and my readers are going to be my accountability partners! Join me tomorrow to find out what I’m doing to get skinny!

2 thoughts on “If you can’t say nothin’ nice. Don’t say nothin’ at all.

  1. Pingback: People I See | M.S. Fowle

  2. Pingback: Age Ain’t Nothin’ But A Number | mytaintedview

Leave a Reply

