Ode To Husband.

We do not have a perfect house; by any means. Our dishes are often found overflowing the sink. Clean, full laundry baskets can be found scattered throughout the living room patiently waiting to be folded and put away. And not to mention the legos strewn throughout the house just waiting to be stepped on at 3 am.

But there is sure a whole lot of love in our home.

Despite our desperate attempts to stay caught up on the chores, my husband and I work great together! November 5th marked our 3 year anniversary. What a wonderful 3 years it has been! We have accomplished so much. A summary of our three years includes a baby girl, 2 car purchases (with cash) and paying off over $30,000 in debt. There is no way that we would have been able to accomplish all of these things with out each other. I love my husband more than anything. He is so patient and understanding. And believe me, it takes a lot of patience to live with a block head like me. 😉

Image

Last weekend, we went on our very first “couples only” weekend since our daughter was born. We went to Park City and stayed two nights up there. Just the two of us. It was so nice! But as a mother, this was hard to leave my daughter for not only one night, but two. Brett was great to comfort me when I was having a hard time. He’s always good with stuff like that. It was nice to be able to rekindle that “Honeymoon” feeling. We will make sure to get out at least once a year, just the two of us. This last weekend made me realize that I have a wonderful husband! I’ve always known it and appreciated it, but it really really hit me hard when I was able to give my full attention to him for two whole days.

Image

Words cannot express how much this man means to me, but I’m going to try my best.

Every day he makes me a better person. He encourages me to shoot for the stars and he always believes in me. He very happily holds my hand every step of the way. When I am frustrated, he knows exactly how to make me laugh. Or he’ll surprise me with flowers or a new playlist on my ipod that simply says “I love you”. When he does these things, it tugs on my heart strings. It’s hard to not cry happy tears.

Image

He helps around the house. In fact, he often takes on most of the chores. I thank him for all of his help.The best part is, he doesn’t complain. At all. He will ask for help when he needs it, but he never complains. He is a HARD worker. I love that he sets goals and works very hard to accomplish them. He carries out each of his goals with dedication and devotion.

Image

He is very patient with everything. I get frustrated very easily,  but he just swoops in, makes it better and we carry on. I love that he still holds the door for me. Chivalry is not dead in our house. He will be sure to be an example to our boys (if we have any boys) and make sure that our daughters demand respect from any boy that they come in contact with. He is a GREAT dad and his family means everything to him. I always come first. Chelae is next in line. He definitely knows his priorities.

Image

I love the way he loves me for me. He always listens to what I have to say and gives the best advice. I love the way he calls me beautiful; “lookin’ good babe.”. I love the way he kisses my neck and wraps his arms around me when I’m cooking or doing the dishes. After 3 years, that still makes my heart flutter.

Image

Oh man!! That man can make me laugh! Inside jokes, dirty humor, the way he makes up lyrics to songs when he is singing to Chelae. It doesn’t matter what he’s doing or talking about, my husband is funny as hell. The best part, he doesn’t care what other people think. He is who he is and I love that about him. Plus, he’s smokin’ hot.

ImageImage

My husband has a pure heart. I admire how willing he is to help people. He did a humanitarian aid when he was a teenager. He worked diligently to raise the money to go to Peru. He helped the families there. Peru holds a special place in his heart. I would love to go there with him one day. Big or small, he loves random acts of kindness. He is always honest with me and he says his prayers every morning.

Image

Sometimes I wonder how I ended up with such a wonderful man. He is truly a blessing in my life. These descriptions don’t even come close to explaining how much I love this man. My heart is so full. I am going to miss him when he is gone for boot camp and future deployments. But he knows what he wants to do, and he is very excited for this change for our family. So am I. We are both anxious to get boot camp over with and move to our new home. Together. Always together.

Image

Overall, I lucked out. I have such a wonderful husband. I’m privileged to spend the rest of forever with him. 🙂

Image

Happy anniversary babe. I love you.

One thought on “Ode To Husband.

  1. Pingback: Our Anniversary | Courage and Reverence

Leave a Reply

