8 minute organizer

I feel like I’ve said this a million times, but I love reading self help books! I’m currently listening to the audio book: The 8 minute organizer by Regina Leeds.

8minute_3d

While I was listening to this book, I had an idea.

My daughter always gets in to the kitchen cupboards and pulls everything out. There is one cupboard that seems to be her favorite; “The baking cupboard”. Our apartment does not have a pantry, so when we first moved in, all the baking supplies had their own cupboard. We later decided to turn our linen closet into our pantry. For some reason, the baking stuff never made its way over there.

My daughter is often found grabbing the bag of flour and walking around the house. We are just asking for a giant mess! One time, she managed to get the syrup open. That was fun. She spilled some out and was finger painting on the kitchen floor! So in attempts to avoid future messes, I moved all the baking stuff to the pantry. I put her kitchen toys in the newly empty cupboard and moved her play kitchen set so it’s right next to that cupboard. And with Regina’s inspiration, it only took 8 Minutes! Now everything is all together and she has her very own cupboard! Plus, I don’t have to worry about her dumping flour all over. When I showed her what I did, she seemed confused at first. She looked at me like, “Wait. That’s not what goes in here!” and then she got really excited! She spent the next half hour playing kitchen! I wish I would have gotten a picture of her playing.

DSC_0275

That face. That excited expression. I would have never gotten that if I didn’t take the time to enrich my life with the knowledge of someone else. I love learning new things and I’m glad that my daughter gets to share in the excitement with me.

2 thoughts on “8 minute organizer

  1. “I love reading self help books!” Me too! The magic seems to really happen when I actually follow up with the appropriate action or changes. The improvement doesn’t always happen (or happen immediately), but I don’t think I’ve ever felt worse for having read and learned something new.

Leave a Reply

