Boundaries. Don’t blow things up.

I’m indecisive. That is why I am currently reading 3 books. (listening to 2 audio books and reading another.) 3 books? Really Amanda? I think I’m a bit obsessed.

Hey, I guess it’s better to be obsessed with learning new things rather than obsessing over something destructive. Like blowing things up. While blowing things up can be entertaining for some, it often crosses some boundaries.

Sid&Buzz

Take Sid for example. In Pixar’s “Toy Story”, Sid has no perception of personal boundaries. He doesn’t care who’s toy it is, or what purpose the toy serves, he just thinks “Let’s blow this up”. He violates the toy’s personal space by mutating them into something that Woody found all to terrifying.

sidstoysbuzz-very-scared-when-you_4c19f5bb6633f-p

 

One of the books I’m listening to is Boundaries by Henry Cloud.

boundaries_fron_prooft

In this book, he talks about identifying the different types of boundary crossers and how you should handle those particular individuals. People that suffer from abuse need their support system to overcome their challenges. In Toy Story, Woody and Buzz offered the support and encouragement for the other toys. They worked together to get Sid to stop blowing toys up.

KMP-DVD[(017185)23-16-36]

Every boundary crosser has one thing in common: They do not realize the harm or negative impact that they are putting on the other individuals involved.

I’m a boundary crosser. Not in an abusive or physical way, but I guess in a verbal way. I offer opinions and advice when they are not wanted. I say things that I’m thinking, but shouldn’t be said. To be honest, it turns people away. I’ve noticed this more and more as I read Dr. Cloud’s book. I’m learning more and more how to handle myself, but for now, I’m just going to work on holding my tongue for 5 seconds. Just pause and think for a moment.

I’ll let you know how it goes, but if I say something that offends you, just say “Amanda, hold your tongue.” I’ll get the hint! 🙂

Thanks for stopping by. See you tomorrow.

By the way, tomorrow I announce my big exciting news!! 🙂 Are you so excited? I am. In the mean time, remember that you can still get 15% off by using code BLOG15 at check out. I just added some Christmas Decor to my Etsy Shop! Check it out.

Leave a Reply

