EASY DIY VALENTINES DECOR

pin it

I came up with this idea when I was browsing through hobby lobby one day. They did something similar to this but I personally like the ones that I have made much better. 🙂 These are fun because you can swap out the prints with what ever you want! Pictures, shopping lists, or even more cute printables from Motivated Decor.

DSC_0244

You will need the following supplies:

1. Wooden board.

2. Sawtooth hanger

3. Sponge brush

4. Paint

5. Hammer

6. Hot Glue gun

7. Ribbon

8. Clip (I got a pack of 16 of them for $5 in the scrap book embellishments section at Hobby Lobby)

9. Print from Motivated Decor. 😉

First step: Paint the wood. 🙂 I paint the back side first and move onto the sides and front. I save a dish or paper plate and put the paint right on my board. I’ve been doing crafts like these for a while so I know how much paint I need. If you are unsure how much paint you need, you can put yours on a paint tray or paper plate. Keep in mind that sponge brushes absorb a lot of paint, you don’t need very much because as you continue, the paint that was initially absorbed in the brush will be applied to the board.

DSC_0246

DSC_0250

I like Anita’s because it is cheap but still a great quality. I picked this up when it was 1/2 off. $0.43 for a little tube like this will do about 3 or 4 boards if you apply 2 coats.

Step 2: Hammer in your saw tooth hanger. You can use a ruler to make sure it’s center/level, but I eyeball it. Hammer it on a flat, solid surface. Doing this first is easiest. If you wait till the end, you will have your bow or clip on the other side. Your board will not lay flat and you will have a hard time getting it in right. Trust me, I’ve done it. 🙂

DSC_0255 DSC_0257

Step 3. Fancy up your bow. I  usually wrap the whole ribbon around the board, but this one had a different shape. It looked awkward so I just made up my own bow. All I do is glue the center of the ribbon to the board, twist and glue. Twist a different piece and glue. Repeat till you have the look you desire.

I strung the ribbon through the back side of the clip and glued the whole thing down.

DSC_0258 DSC_0263

Continue to twist the ribbon and secure it down. You can clip the excess ribbon off or keep going until you are out of ribbon. There is no right or wrong way to do it. 🙂

DSC_0269

TADA!!

DSC_0278

Clip your print from Motivated Decor to your board and you  are all done! Easy peasy huh?

DSC_0283 DSC_0284

If you don’t want to make your own, but you you love what you see, continue to watch my Etsy shop. I’ve got some really fun custom features coming soon! 🙂 I can make these boards and decorate them for you if you would like. 🙂

Thanks for stopping by! If you make something like this, please share pictures! I’d love to see what you come up with! 🙂

SIGNATURE

Leave a Reply

