Women and the 2nd Amendment

My husband and I have recently felt the need to have guns and Concealed Carry Permits. There are so many awful stories on the news. I can’t even watch it any more. I am absolutely terrified that I will be attacked in the parking lot. Every time I go to the store, I constantly think that will happen. But honestly, I’m more afraid of what will happen if I don’t have the protection that I need. I am worried that I will not be able to protect my self or my kids. I cannot control what others do, but I can control my end. If I’m going to be attacked, I can control how I handle the situation. I can practice with my fire arm. I can take self defense courses. I can learn the laws and appropriately enforce my rights.

We are getting guns and taking the CCW course.

rugersp101pink

This is the gun that I am getting. Ruger SP 101. We went shooting on Saturday and I shot so many guns. This one was by far my favorite. It fit my hand so perfectly and was a clean smooth shot. The recoil was not bad at all. I am excited to get it and practice as much as possible.

Learning self defense does not stop when you get a gun. That is actually the beginning. You need to practice withdrawing your fire arm. You need to safely role-play with your instructor or family members. You need to learn how to escape life threatening situations. Owning a gun irresponsibly is worse than not having one at all. If you do not arm your self with knowledge, you put your self at higher risk.

Also with owning a gun, you need to appropriately teach your kids gun safety. I’m not an expert on how to do this yet. But I can refer you to my new favorite website: The Well Armed Women. I will also read so many books on this! My daughter is only one year old, so I intend to knock the curiosity right out of her. I will teach her and show it to her. I will  learn as much as I can about children and gun safety before she gets old enough to do any thing with it.

On The Well Armed Women website, I read all of the women survival stories. So many women were able to defend themselves because they had their fire arm. Others wished they would have had it. As my mom always says: I’d rather have it and not need it, than need it and not have it. If you are considering getting a gun for self defense, I encourage you to read those stories. It can happen to any one, even YOU and your family. Don’t let it. Be the protector of your home. Keep yourself and your family safe from all those crazies out there.

this house is protected by the good lord and a gun

(Click pictures for links)

WM DON'T MESS WITH THIS GIRL

I will read as many books and take as many classes as possible to make sure my family stays safe – at home and in public.

Do not mess with this momma bear.

Period.

SIGNATURE

2 thoughts on “Women and the 2nd Amendment

  1. I was raised with guns but I am not a fan of them. We grew up on a ranch, so you somewhat needed one… coyotes trying to pack hunt a baby calf or a badger trying to dig its way under your house, or lots of rattlesnakes, occasional cougar sightings. Protection from wildlife. LOL.

    I am so glad to see that you are doing everything you can to educated and train yourself and your family. Because the most frightening statistic for me to have a gun in my house is that you are more likely to be shot with your own gun than someone else’s.

    It is somewhat funny. We live in the England, which it is illegal to carry firearms here. They are tightly controlled and only allowed for hunting and target shooting. You can even get into a lot of trouble for carrying a knife or even a baseball bat for protection. Only 10% of their police force carry guns. The funny part, when we first moved here I actually felt less safe because of this… which was a totally bizarre feeling. I felt more safe at the barbed wire, highly guarded with big guns military base than in I did in a community free of weapons. lol. My perceptions have of course changed and I feel very comfortable and safe in our community off base now.
    It is just funny, that my perception has changed because of living in a country with no weapons. Where before I didn’t want a gun in my house and now I would definitely consider it.

    P.S. Stop watching the news… its just a bunch of garbage full of drama… not “news” at all!!! 🙂

    • Ya I don’t watch it very often. Every time I do it stresses me out. So I just don’t pay attention to it any more. You bring up some very valid arguments. I want to take a self defense class that teaches me how to disarm my attacker. If someone ever gets my gun I want to know how to remain In control. Still, I will feel much safer having one. Specially while my husband is gone with the military.

Leave a Reply

